Viola Davis, Mariah Carey, Stacey Abrams & More Honored At The 12th Annual AAFCA Awards [Photos]

The 12th annual African American Film Critics Association Awards were held Wednesday (April 8) virtually for a private audience.

via: BlackFilm

The AAFCA Awards were hosted by Tichina Arnold, J.B. Smoove, and Tone Bell, who opened with a fun dialogue to introduce guests.

Big winners included Viola Davis, who received the AAFCA icon award.

The AAFCA Award for Breakout Director was presented to Shaka King, for “Judas and the Black Messiah”. Daniel Kaluuya won the AAFCA Award for Best Supporting Actor for his role as Chairman Fred Hampton.

The AAFCA Award for Best Actress, was awarded to Andra Day for her role in “The United States Vs. Billie Holiday”.

The AAFCA Innovator Award was presented to Mariah Carey.

There were appearances from Aida Rodriguez, Amma Asante, Andra Day, Andy Young, Chaz Ebert, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Daniel Kaluuya, Daryl Mitchell, Debra Martin Chase, Dominique Fishback, George C. Wolfe, Gina Prince-Bythewood, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, J.B. Smoove, Kemp Powers, Lee Daniels, Lisa Cortes, Liz Garbus, Mariah Carey, Matthew Cherry, Michael B. Jordan, Michaela Angela Davis, Philippe Lacôte, Regina King, Shaka King, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Stacey Abrams, Tichina Arnold, Tone Bell, Trevor Noah, and Viola Davis.

The list of winners are below.

Best Picture: Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros.)

Best Director: Regina King, One Night in Miami (Amazon Studios)

Best Actor: Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix)

Best Actress: Andra Day, The United States vs. Billie Holiday (Hulu)

Best Supporting Actor: Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros.)

Best Supporting Actress: Dominique Fishback, Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros.)

Best Screenplay: Kemp Powers, One Night in Miami (Amazon Studios)

Best Ensemble: One Night in Miami (Amazon Studios)

Best Foreign Film: Night of the Kings (Neon)

Best Documentary: All In: The Fight for Democracy (Amazon Studios)

Best Animation: Soul (Pixar/Disney)

Best Short Film: Two Distant Strangers

Breakout Performance: Radha Blank (Netflix)

Breakout Director: Shaka King (Warner Bros.)

AAFCA will hold a public-facing viewing of the awards program on April 17 and 18 on The AAFCA Channel on Comcast/Xfinity.

Share This Post