Tiffany Haddish, Damon Wayans, Mindy Kaling and Dave Chappelle Invited to Join The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences sent out a record 928 invitations to new members on Monday as part of an effort to bolster diversify.

via Page Six:

Despite the serious mission, the list was packed with comics and comedic actors including Tiffany Haddish, Mindy Kaling, Amy Schumer, Sarah Silverman, George Lopez, Rashida Jones, Hannibal Buress, Dave Chappelle, Isla Fisher, Damon Wayans and Harry Shearer.

Reportedly Kobe Bryant, who won an Oscar this year for best animated short film, was shot down as a new member for not having enough experience.

Last year, 774 invitations were sent out.

Well, this is a start. #OscarsStillSoWhite

Share This Post