The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Is Inducting Jay-Z, LL Cool J And Tina Turner In 2021 [Video]

JAY-Z will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame this fall. The organization’s CEO and President Greg Harris announced the 2021 class of inductees on Wednesday (May 12).

via: Uproxx

The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame has officially announced its roster of 2021 inductees, and the list is chock full of legendary artists. But what’s great about this year’s offering is that it is full of diverse musicians who might fall into any genre, including rap and R&B, and by proxy is expanding the definition of who qualifies for the honor. This year, Jay-Z will be entering into its ranks, along with fellow rap icon LL Cool J, and the inimitable Tina Turner.

Other, more traditionally “rock” acts like Foo Fighters will also be inducted, along with The Go-Go’s, singer and legendary songwriter Carole King, Todd Rundgren, Clarence Avant, Billy Preston, Randy Rhodes, Kraftwerk, Gil Scott-Heron, and Charley Patton.

The induction ceremony for this year will take place on October 30 at 8 p.m. ET at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio. This year marks the 36th annual induction ceremony. It will broadcast on HBO and stream on HBO Max later on.

Check out the official category designations for the artists below, and make sure to congratulate Jay-Z on his rock and roll credentials if you see him.

Performer Category
Foo Fighters
The Go-Go’s
Carole King
Todd Rundgren
Tina Turner

Ahmet Ertegun Award
Clarence Avant

Musical Excellence Award
LL Cool J
Billy Preston
Randy Rhodes

Early Influence Award
Gil Scott-Heron
Charley Patton

The 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio on Oct. 30. The ceremony will later air on HBO and be available to stream on HBO Max. See the full 2021 induction class in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s announcement video below.

Share This Post